The Genre that Started it All

As a kid I read just about every age-appropriate book that I could borrow from the New York Public Library, West Farms Branch, in The Bronx. But not until I discovered Edgar Rice Burroughs did I have any aspirations of one day becoming a writer. The Adventure Fantasy and Sword & Planet novels of ERB, which included Tarzan and John Carter of Mars, unleashed my imagination in ways that I did not think possible. ERB became my muse, and his influence on my early works is more than obvious.

My first published novels comprised the five-book Dannus series in the Sword & Planet genre. I published the initial two books as one story, titled Warlord of Maldrinium, as well as Caves of Maldrinium, Dark Seas of Maldrinium, and Slaves of Maldrinium. The first book that I actually wrote, The Master of Boranga, an Adventure Fantasy story, became my eighth published novel and led to three sequels in the Ro-lan series. I have since revised and updated all of them.

One side note: the main thread of the series is the ongoing conflict between Roland Summers (Ro-lan) and Ras-ek Varano, the evil Master. The fourth book, published three decades ago, did not end the series, as I had hoped to do more of them. Over the years my legion of fans ☺ asked me when a new Ro-lan adventure would be forthcoming so they could find out what happened. Guess what: I wanted to know what happened too. So I wrote an entirely new ending to Book Four, The Beasts of Zammar, which resolves the conflict once and for all.

Select a novel to learn more, including an overview, sample chapter or scene, reviews, and a link to purchase either print or ebook.  


The Master of Boranga
The Sorcerer of Mesharra
The Dark Corner



The Shrouded Walls of Kharith
The Beasts of Zammar

Pin It on Pinterest